

(ELECTION CELL)

ELC/ELC I/4019/2023

11.06.2024

NOTIFICATION

The Senate of Kannur University has been reconstituted as per Notification No.ELC/ELC I/4019/2023 dated 23-02-2024 specifying that the names of members to be elected/nominated shown as '*vacant*' in the notification will be notified later, after elections/nominations are completed.

The elections to the Senate by the members of the General Council of the University Union from among full-time students were completed and the results declared on 01-06-2024. The Hon'ble Chancellor of Kannur University, *vide* letters No.GS3-405/2024 dated 01-04-2024 and GS3-405/2024 dated 04-04-2024, nominated members on 31-03-2024 under the headings 'Ex-Officio Members' and 'Other members' of Section 19 of Kannur University Act 1996.

Therefore, it is hereby notified for the information of all concerned that following members, nominated/elected as per section 19 of the Kannur University Act 1996, are included in the reconstituted Senate of Kannur University.

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS

<u>Section 19(xii)</u> - Two heads of University Departments who are not otherwise members of the <u>Senate</u>, nominated by the Chancellor, by rotation.

1. Dr. Soorej M Basheer

Associate Professor and Head, Dept. of Molecular Biology, Dr.Janaki Ammal Campus, Kannur University, Palayad, Thalassery

2. Dr. Seetha Kakkoth

Assistant Professor and Head Dept. of Rural and Tribal Sociology Kannur University, Mananthavady Campus Edavaka PO, Wayanad. Section 19(xiii) - Two Deans of Faculties of the University who are not otherwise members of the Senate, nominated by the Chancellor, by rotation.

1. Prof. K Gangadharan

Dean, Faculty of Humanities, Professor, Dept. of Economics, Dr. Janaki Ammal Campus Kannur University, Palayad, Thalassery

2. Prof. Anil Ramachandran

Dean, Faculty of Sports Science & Physical Education, Professor, Dept. of Physical Education & Sports Sciences Mangattuparamba Campus

ELECTED MEMBERS

<u>Section 19(xi)</u> - Ten members elected by the members of the General Council of the University Union from among full-time students, of whom one shall be a post-graduate student, one shall be a research scholar, one shall be a student of a professional college, two shall be lady students, and one shall be a member of a Scheduled Caste or a Scheduled Tribe.

- Akhila Peeter (Post Graduate Student)
 I Year MBA,
 People Institute of Management Studies,
 EMS Aksharagramam, Munnad (PO),
 Chengala Via, Kasaragod-671541
 - Alna Vinod (Lady Student)

 Year BA (English)
 Co-operative Arts & Science College Madayi,
 PO. Payangadi (R S), Kannur-670358

3. Arya K (Lady Student)

I Year MA (Journalism and Media Studies) Department of Journalism & Media Studies Kannur University Campus, Mangattuparamba.

4. Ashith Ashokan T (Professional College Student)
III Year BA LLB.
School of Legal Studies,
Dr. Janaki Ammal Campus,
Palayad (PO), Thalassery, Kannur- 670661

5. Farhana T P

II Year M.Sc. (Chemistry) Sir Syed College, Taliparamba Karimbam PO, Taliparamba, Kannur-670142

6. Muhammed Haseeb T K

II Year LLB, Kannur University, Department of Law, School of Legal studies, Manjeswaram Campus

7. Nandagopal K V

II Year B.Sc. (Physics) Govt. College Mananthavady, Nalloornad (PO), Mananthavady, Wayanad

8. Sanjeev P S

IV Year BA LLB. School of Legal Studies, Kannur University, Dr. Janaki Ammal Campus, Palayad (PO), Thalassery, Kannur

 Vaishnav Mahendran (SC/ ST Student) II Year BA LLB, School of Legal Studies, Kannur University, Dr. Janaki Ammal Campus, Palayad (PO), Thalassery, Kannur

Soorya Alex (Research Scholar) Dept, of Studies in English, Dr. Janaki Ammal Campus, Palayad (PO), Thalassery, Kannur-670661

OTHER MEMBERS:

<u>Section 19(i)</u> - <u>One member from among the Headmasters of High Schools and one member from</u> <u>among the teachers of schools, situated within the University area, nominated by the Chancellor</u>.

One member from among the Headmasters of High Schools Sri. Saji James K. Headmaster, Marygiri HSS

Therthally, Kannur

2. One member from among the Teachers of Schools

Mrs. Kochurani Augustine GHSS Madikai Kanhangad, Kasaragod Section 19(ii) - Not more than ten members nominated by the Chancellor representing (a) recognized research institutions (b) Chambers of commerce and industries (c) authors (d) journalists (e) lawyers (f) sports & games (g) linguistic minorities (h) medical profession (i) engineering & technology.

(a) Recognized Research Institution

Dr. K Muralidharan
 Principal Scientist & in-charge,
 Indian Council for Agricultural Research (ICAR)
 Central Plantation Crops Research Institute (CPCRI)
 Kasaragod

(b) Chambers of Commerce and Industries

 Sri. Mahesh Chandra Baliga Sukha Jyothi, Mill Road Kannur - 670001

(c) Authors

 Sri. T Padmanabhan Writer, Rajendra Nagar Colony, Stage - 2, Pallikkunnu PO, Kannur 670004

(d) Journalists

 Sri. U P Santhosh, Journalist Nagar, Mundayad PO Kannur - 670594

(e) Lawyers

5. Adv. Karunakaran Nambiar K Adwaitham, Nelkala, Vidyanagar P O, Kasaragod - 671123

6. Sri. E R Vinod Advocate, Ellath Valappil House, Thannada PO, Chala East, Kannur - 670621

(f) Sports and Games

7. Sri. Biju Ummer,

Moideen's Colony Gate, Azhikode PO, Kannur - 670001 (Judo State Champion 2013, Shotokan Karate Black Belt 1st dan)

(g) Linguistic Minorities

8. Dr. Rathnakara M (Kannada)
Associate Professor,
Dept. of PG Studies and Research in Kannada,
Govt. College, Kasaragod - 671123

(h) Medical Profession

9. Dr. Prapanch K (Ayurveda) Sreebhavan Opp. Income Tax Office, Chovva (PO) Kannur - 670006

(i) Engineering and Technology

10. Prof. Soman P Mazhuvannur (H), Tharuvana P.O, Wayanad - 670645

Section 19(iii) - Four members from among students nominated by the Chancellor, one having outstanding academic ability in Humanities, one having outstanding academic ability in science, one having outstanding ability in Sports, and one having outstanding ability in Fine Arts of whom, one shall be a student of a campus or a University department and another shall be a student of an affiliated college.

1. Humanities

Ms. Aysha Fida (JRF Holder) Ph.D. Scholar, Dr. Janaki Ammal Campus, Kannur University, Palayad, Thalassery, Kannur - 670661

2. Science

Ms. Sruthi Remashan, UGC, JRF, Research Scholar, School of Chemical Science, Kannur University, Payyannur Campus Edat P O, Kannur - 670327

3. Sports

Ms. Ashika Santhosh K C

(Power Lifting), 2nd Semester, M. Sc Zoology, Govt. Brennen College, Thalassery, Kannur [Kundanchalil House, Kavumbhagam P O Thalassery, Kannur - 670649]

4. Fine Arts

Ms. Harsha P

B.A (6th Sem) History Student, Nirmalagiri College, Koothuparamba Kannur - 670701

The above members shall hold office in the Senate subject to the provisions contained in the Kannur University Act 1996, as well as any further amendments thereto and the Statutes framed there under.



By order of the Vice-Chancellor

Prof. (Dr.) Joby K Jose

Registrar

g

Civil Station Kannur (P.O) 11.06.2024 To

All members of the Senate (with C/L)

Copy to

The Additional Chief Secretary to Chancellor (with C/L) The Private Secretary to Pro Chancellor (with C/L) The Principal Secretary, Higher Education Department (with C/L) The Registrar, All Universities of Kerala (with C/L) All Heads of University Teaching Departments/CDs & ADs of University Centres Principals of all Affiliated Colleges PS to VC/PA to Registrar/PA to CE/PA to FO JD KSAD/PRO/Director- SLL/DSS/DPE/DO/Director IT Centre/PLD A Section All JRs/All DRs/All ARs/ Web manager SF/DF/FC